"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer.  Let him step to the music which he hears, however measured or far away."
Henry David Thoreau


The above is one of my favorite quotes...

Simply put: Let people do their own thing.  I've been doing my own thing for almost 30 years now and have been lucky to be able to surround myself with family members who fostered it, friends that encourage it, and a husband who either loves it or accepts it - depending on the day *wink*.

I was born and raised in north central Nebraska.  A lot of that culture has stuck with me through the years and I'd like to think that I've brought the best bits of it to this crazy city (which I've grown to really enjoy).  I like to talk - with my hands.  I like turning all of that hand talking into a great story that captivates any listening.  I like getting up early and solving a newspaper crossword over a cup of hazelnut coffee.  I like the hazelnut coffee even better if it doesn't come from my coffee machine as I have yet to figure out the perfect ratio of grounds to water.  I enjoy a stout rye manhattan, all variations of cheese and carbs, and the sound of genuine laughter.  I believe in the power of optimism and I like sending snail mail because it's a nice break in the monotony of bills and credit card offers.  I bake when I'm bored and I love finding reasons to host a good party.  There's just something about getting a group of people all together under one roof - or on one patio, or around one bonfire, etc. - that puts a smile on my face.

My husband Doug and I met in college - his first year, my second.  Fate sat us up right down the hall from each other.  After some interesting late night conversations and a few tasteful make-out sessions (split up equally between his red, plaid couch and my roomate's futon), we found we both shared a love for food, music, and sarcasm and we've been together ever since.  He is my true compliment.  We've moved around quite a bit and have most recently decided to make Kansas City our new home.  No mini Martins yet (although not for lack of asking on our families' part).  Our two very loving, very overweight cats - Smokey and Bandit - keep us pretty content.  

I currently work part time as an on air personality at a country radio station in the city and the other part of the time I bartend and serve at a local brewery.  I like to bartend.  I like to bake.  I like to write and I like to sew, but I've always wanted to start a blog so I'm diving into this thing head first.  So, here's to you - my avid or casual reader - and here's to my thoughts - however wandering or precise - and here's to my technologically savvy husband who helped me set it all up.